Life Update

I didn’t think it was important for me to write posts about myself and what’s going on in my life but after reading my post “First blog post” (which isn’t even properly capitalized) I figured I should make a post to at least capture how much cooler and together I am now.

Here in Michigan I’m in my senior year of high school and will be 18 in late August. After high school I’ll be attending Grand Rapids Community College part-time for two years in order to gain my Associate’s of Arts with an MTA. I’m currently enrolled in two summer courses and plan to take summer courses next year as well in order to be able to stay a part-time student and be able to have a local job. I would have gone straight to a four-year university but money was a deciding factor. But I realized something. I am so young. Young people fresh out of high school are expected to know exactly who they want to be and where they want to go after being in an education system that actively attempts to make us all the same: products of society. Where is our originality supposed to come from? Then we’re thrown into a study for another four years and when we get out we still don’t know who we are or who we’ve been trying to sculpt ourselves to be. I know that I want to major in Communication Studies and minor in Political Science but from there the road splits into many potential and enticing directions. A young person shouldn’t be expected to know the life they’ll be reflecting back on in their eighties while they’re still in their teens.

Anyway after CC I’ll transfer to Grand Valley State University where my boyfriend is currently going to school as a History major (so I guess we know who will be making the money in our house). From there I have not yet formulated a plan. And why should I?

